- What System do I use to Manage Production Areas?
- Determining if Parent Account Manages Production Areas
- Taking Ownership of Production Area Management from Parent Account
- Returning Ownership of Production Area Management to Parent Account
- Editing Name of Production Area
- Adding and Publishing a Production Area
- Deleting a Production Area
- Sorting Production Areas
- Unpublishing/Publishing Production Areas
- FAQs
What System do I use to Manage Production Areas?
Managing production areas is done in your Core account and not the Touch app.
Opening the Production Areas Screen
To open the Production Areas screen in your account, complete the following steps:
- In your Core account, select Settings from the left navigation sidebar. The Settings panel appears to the right.
- From the Settings panel, select Production Settings > Production Areas. The Production Areas screen appears.
Determining if Parent Account Manages Production Areas
To determine if your parent account manages the production areas and menu item assignments.
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- If your parent account is managing the production areas, then a message in a blue banner at the top of the screen states such, and tells you that you can take ownership (i.e., customize your production areas) by clicking the Add Production Areas button (specific instructions explained in the Taking Ownership of Production Area Management from Parent Account below).
Taking Ownership of Production Area Management from Parent Account
By default, a parent account (i.e., corporate account) owns the production areas and menu item assignments. As such, any changes by the parent account to the production areas and menu item assignments will flow down to its child accounts (i.e., facility accounts). This scenario is ideal to help child accounts get started with production areas and menu item assignments rather than as a means for the parent account to maintain data for its child accounts on a permanent basis.
When a child account is ready, it can then take ownership of the production areas and menu item assignments. When doing so, any changes from the parent account to production areas and menu item assignment no longer flow down to the child account.
As a child account, you take ownership of production area management from your parent account as follows:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
-
Click the Add Production Areas button. A message appears stating that your account will now be responsible for maintaining its productions area, and that the production areas from your parent account will be copied to your account for you to maintain.
- Click the Yes, Create Production Area button. The production areas from the parent account are copied to your account for you to now manage.
About Menus Copied from a Menu Template
If your account has taken ownership of its production areas, then note the following:
- For any existing menus that had been copied from a menu template, the menu item-production area assignment initially created by the parent account is maintained in your account.
- For any future menus that you copy from a menu template, the menu item-production area assignment initially created by the parent account is not maintained in your account.
Returning Ownership of Production Area Management to Parent Account
You can return the ownership of production area management to your parent account. Doing so will replace your production areas and menu item assignments with your parent account's production areas and menu item assignments. To return ownership of production area management to your parent account:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- Click the Reset to Master Production Area button. A confirmation message appears stating that any of your account’s production areas will be deleted and your menu items assignments to those production areas will be unassigned (to be replaced by your parent account's production areas and menu item assignments).
- Click the Clear my data and use Parent Account’s Production Areas button.
Editing Name of Production Area
If your account manages its productions areas, then you have the ability to change the name of a production area. To do so, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- For the production area whose name you want to edit, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Edit (first screenshot below). The Edit Production Area modal appears (second screenshot below).
- Enter the new name for the production area.
- Click the Save button. The name is changed.
Adding and Publishing a Production Area
If your account manages its productions areas, then you have the ability to add a production area. To do so, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- Click the Add Production Area button. The Add Production Areas modal appears.
- Enter a name for the production area and click the Save button. The newly-added production area is listed, but is not yet published.
- With the production area now created, your next step is to publish it. To do so, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Publish (first screenshot below). The production area is published, and given the status of Published (second screenshot below).
- With the new production area now added and published, you can assign items to it. To do so see the separate article Assigning Menu Items to a Production Area.
Deleting a Production Area
If your account manages its productions areas, then you have the ability to delete a production area When you delete a production area, any assigned menu items will become unassigned. To delete a production area:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- For the production area to be deleted, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Delete (first screenshot below). A confirmation message appears stating that any menu items assigned to the production area will become unassigned (second screenshot below).
- Type the word Delete in the available field, and then click the Delete area and unassign all Items button. The production area is deleted.
Sorting Production Areas
You can change the sort order of the production areas to determine how they display within the system. Note that if your parent account manages the production areas, you as the child facility account are still able to sort the production areas for your account. To change the sort order:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- Sort the production areas as desired by clicking and holding the drag handle (
) of a production area and dragging and dropping it to the desired order in the list. The sort order is automatically applied.
Unpublishing/Publishing Production Areas
Unpublishing a Production Area
If your account manages its productions areas, then you have the ability to unpublish a production area. Unpublishing a production area means it will unassign any assigned items, and the production area will not be available for selection in the system. To unpublish a production area:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- For the production area to be unpublished, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Unpublish (first screenshot below). A confirmation message appears stating that any menu items assigned to the production area will become unassigned (second screenshot below).
- Click the Unpublish area and unassign all items button. The production area is unpublished, and given the status of Unpublished.
Publishing an Unpublished Production Area
To publish an unpublished production area:
-
Open the Production Areas screen.
- For the production area to be published, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Publish (screenshot below). The production area is published, and given the status of Published.
- A production area that was unpublished will not have any items assigned to it. To assign items to a production area, see Assigning Menu Items to a Production Area.
FAQs
I have added a production area, but it is not available for selection in the system?
This most likely means the production area is not published. See Publishing an Unpublished Production Area above, and then assign the menu items to the newly-published production area (see Assigning Menu Items to a Production Area).
Can production areas be managed/adjusted in the Touch app or POS?
For the POS system, you can override a menu item's production area. See Overriding the Production Area of a Menu Item (via the POS Manager Module).
For the Touch app, production areas cannot be overridden for menu items.
Can a menu item be assigned to more than one production area?
No. A menu item cannot be assigned to more than one production area.