- What is a Preference Group?
- Opening the Preference Groups Screen
- Searching for and Opening a Preference Group
- Viewing the Preference Groups Associated with a Recipe
- Creating and Publishing a Preference Group
- Unpublishing a Preference Group
- Publishing an Unpublished Preference Group
- Deleting a Preference Group
What is a Preference Group?
A preference group is a group type in the system that contains similar food items and recipes that can be identified in a resident/patient's personal menu as either a “like” or a “dislike”. When ordering meals, the person’s likes and dislike settings can be used to tailor the offerings to their subjective tastes.
For example, the Mushroom Preference group in the system contains food items (foods (i.e., ingredients), prepared foods, recipes) with mushrooms. If a resident likes mushrooms, then this group can be tagged as a like for the resident. If the resident does not like mushrooms, then this group can be tagged as a dislike for the resident.
or
To apply preferences groups to a resident/patient's personal menu, refer to the following topics:
A preference group can also be tagged as do not serve (DNS) for a resident/patient's personal menu, meaning all items in the preference group will be marked as do not serve for the person. See Marking a Preference Group (or Groups) as Do Not Serve for a Resident/Patient
Opening the Preference Groups Screen
To open the Preference Groups screen, complete the following steps:
- In your Core account, select Settings from the left navigation sidebar. The Settings panel appears to the right.
- From the Settings panel, select Dietary Settings > Preference Groups. The Preference Group screen appears, listing the preference groups currently available to your account.
Exporting Preference Group List to Excel® File
The preference groups displayed onscreen can be exported to an Excel® file by clicking the Export button.
Searching for and Opening a Preference Group
To search for and open a preference group available to your account, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Preference Groups screen.
- If you know the name of the preference group, search for it in the Search preference groups field. If you first wanted to filter the preference groups available onscreen, then click the Filters button, which opens the Filters side-panel opens on the right for you to filter by account owner and published status (published or unpublished); click the See Results button after applying your filters.
- Click the the name of a preference group to open its screen.
Viewing Ingredients, Prepared Foods and Recipes in a Preference Group
When you open a preference group, its ingredients, prepared foods, and recipes of the preference group are listed.
By clicking the Filters button, you can filter the items by showing or hiding the following:
-
Food Types:
- Ingredients
- Prepared Foods
- Recipes
- Display only foods in use in my account - select this check box to only display items that currently appear in recipe extensions, menus, personal menus or diet interventions in your account.
-
Display only foods that are not removed - if items have been removed from the preference group, then selecting this check box hides the hidden items.
You can search for a specific item (ingredient, prepared food, or recipe) by entering it in the Search field and clicking the magnifying glass or pressing Enter on the keyboard.
Exporting the Food Items in a Preference Group to Excel® File
The items displayed onscreen in the preference group can be exported to an Excel® file. To do so, click the Export button.
Viewing the Preference Groups Associated with a Recipe
When an ingredient or prepared food contained in a recipe belongs to a preference group, then that recipe is automatically added to the same preference group.
You can see any preference groups the recipe belongs to by opening the recipe, clicking the Nutritional Content tab, and viewing the Preferences section. Preferences groups the recipe belongs to from an ingredient are listed in the Added automatically from ingredients sub-section.
For a preference group that a recipe was automatically added to from an ingredient, hovering over the preference group displays the associated ingredient(s) that resulted in the recipe to be automatically added.
Creating and Publishing a Preference Group
To create a new preference group, and then publish it, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Preference Groups screen.
- Click the Add Preference Group button. The New Preference Group screen appears.
- In the Group name field, enter the name for the preference group.
- In the Definition field, you can enter a short description of what the allergen group will contain.
- Click the Save & Publish button. The screen refreshes for you to add food items to the preference group. At this point, you can add food items to the preference group. For instructions to do so, start at step 2 in the following instructions: Preference Groups: Adding Ingredients, Prepared Foods, Recipes.
Unpublishing a Preference Group
If your account created a preference group, then you have the ability to unpublish the preference group. When a preference group is unpublished, the following occurs:
- Its association with any ingredients, prepared foods, and recipes is hidden in the system, meaning when you open an ingredient, prepared food, or recipe, you will not see any previously-assigned associations, and the unpublished preference group will not be available to create an association.
- The preference group will not be available in a personal menu to be tagged as a like or tagged as a dislike. However, if the preference group has already been marked as a like or marked as a dislike, then that like or dislike is maintained in the personal menu.
- If you are a parent account, then the preference group is not available for use in your child accounts.
To unpublish a preference group, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Preference Groups screen and search for preference group that you want to unpublish.
- For the preference group to be unpublished, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Unpublish.
- The preference group is unpublished and its status changes to Unpublished.
Publishing an Unpublished Preference Group
If a preference group is unpublished, then it can be republished. To republish a preference group, complete the following steps:
-
Open the Preference Groups screen and search for preference group that you want to publish.
- For the preference group to be published, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Publish.
- The preference group is published and its status changes to Published.
Deleting a Preference Group
If your account created a preference group, then it has the ability to delete the preference group. Note, however, that a preference group cannot be deleted if it is currently assigned to a resident/patient's personal menu in the account or any child accounts. To delete a preference group:
- Search for and open the desired preference group that you want to delete.
- For the preference group to be deleted, click its ellipsis in the Actions column and select Delete. A confirmation message appears.
- Click Delete to the confirmation message. The preference group is deleted.
Note: If the Delete option is not available for a preference group that your account owns, it indicates that the preference group is currently tagged as a like or tagged as a dislike in a person's personal menu in your account or a child account.